When autumn leaves start to fall


Autumn Leaves

The falling leaves drift by my window
The falling leaves of red and gold
I see your lips, the summer kisses
The sunburned hands I used to hold
autumn-leaves.jpg
Since you went away the days grow long
And soon I’ll hear old winter’s song
But I miss you most of all, my darling
When autumn leaves start to fall

Since you went away the days grow long
And soon I’ll hear old winter’s song
But I miss you most of all, my darling
When autumn leaves start to fall

I miss you most of all, my darling
When autumn leaves start to fall

sung here by Ray Stanton

Some interesting stuff about the song”Autumn Leaves” is a much-recorded popular song. Originally a 1945 French song “Les feuilles mortes” (literally “The Dead Leaves”) with music by Joseph Kosma and lyrics by poet Jacques Prévert, English lyrics were written in 1949 by the American songwriter Johnny Mercer. It has become a pop standard and a jazz standard in both languages, and as an instrumental.”Les feuilles mortes” was introduced by Yves Montand in 1946 for the film Les Portes de la Nuit.The French songwriter Serge Gainsbourg wrote “La chanson de Prévert” as a tribute to this song.

It is the corps song of the DCI drum and bugle corps the Bluecoats.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

You must be logged in to post a comment.
