Gerald the Greek Speaking Gorilla


A scientist talks about the progress he’s made with his Congolese gorilla…

Interviewer:
Professor, can Gerald really speak as we would understand it?

Prof. Timothy Fielding:
Oh yes, yes. He can speak a few actual words. Of course it was extremely difficult to get him even to this stage. When I first captured Gerald in the Congo, ’67 I think it was…

Gerald, the Gorilla: ’68

Prof. Timothy Fielding:
’68. Umm… there was an awful lot of work to do. He was enormously slow and difficult. I had to do a lot of work with him on a sort of one-to-one basis…

Gerald, the Gorilla:
Yes, yes, if I might just butt at this point Tim, I think I should point out that I have done a considerable amount of work on this project myself and if I may say so your teaching methods do leave a bit to be desired…

Prof. Timothy Fielding:
That’s a bit ungrateful, isn’t it?

Gerald, the Gorilla:
…and your diction for instance…

Prof. Timothy Fielding:
I’m sorry, I’m sorry! Can I put this into some sort of perspective? When I caught Gerald in ’68 he was completely wild.

Gerald, the Gorilla:
Wild? I was absolutely livid!

Not The Nine O’clock News

BBC Sketch, 1979

Starring: Rowan Atkinson, Pamela Stephenson, Mel Smith

transcript from IMDB

Here’s the video!! See Gerald Speak Greek!!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

You must be logged in to post a comment.
